fbpx
Château de Savigny 

Explore more nearby places in Auvergne - Rhône-Alpes., France

Chateau de Savigny was built around 1340 by Jean de Frolois for the Duc Eudes, Marshal of Burgundy. It was demolished when the Duc took Marie de Bourgogne’s side against Louis XI in 1478. However, the crows of machicolation were saved and are still visible in two of the towers.

It became the property of the Bouhier family in the early 17th century, Etienne Bouhier restored and extended the Chateau. His son, Jean, constructed the grand staircase inside, after the death of his father in 1635. He built it with the same design as the one made by Mansard in the Castle of Maisons-Laffitte. His son, Bénigne, succeeded him in 1671, and to mark this event, created the “Petit Château”. The eldest son of Bénigne, Jean Bouhier, entered the French academic in 1727.

In 1689, the building became the property of the De Migieu family by marriage to General Comte de la Loyère and his descendants. His son, the Comte de la Loyère, whose grandson, Academician Joseph de Pesquidoux, was born in Savigny in 1869, was the President of the Committee of Wine Growing of Côte d’Or from 1854 to 1879. His collaborator was Dr Guyot whose works on the vineyards were still authority. He died in 1872 and was buried in Savigny.

During 1719, President Migieu had to leave his Château for a few months when it was used as a residence for the Duchess of Maine during his exile in Burgundy.

Finally, since 1979 the Castle has been restored to its original purpose, becoming the property of a large vineyard on the côte managed by Christophe Pont.

The Vineyard

The vineyard that is about 17 hectares, produces seven premiers’ crus: Auxey-Duresses – Beaune – Monthélie – Meursault – Pommard – Volnay and Savigny-lès-Beaune, including its 4 hectare Cuvée du Château Monopole and, on the Côte Dijonnaise, its Clos du Châpitre, and its Cuvée du Roy. 

Beautiful 14th and 17th-century cellar extend under the Grand Palace, and under the cellars, which house the wine in barrels and bottles. These premier cru wines are marketed directly to Château of Savigny, and the restaurant “Le Cellier Volnaysien” in Volnay.

Tasting Pavilion

The “Petit Château” was built in 1683 in an original style by President Bénigne Bouhier who was the owner at the time. The building was meant to serve as a common and stables. After its restoration in 1987, it has been converted into a tasting pavilion for visitors and for marketing wines from the Château. Recently, a dining room too was created for the tasting of local products. 

Reception Rooms

The first floor of the Château is built with three reception rooms, all connected together. These magnificent rooms can accommodate up to 300 people and are intended for use for various events and functions. Two kitchens are installed and available to caterers. The Château wines are served exclusively at producer prices. All the ground floor, consisting of a row of old cellars, have been fully restored and open to the public for visiting various exhibitions and tastings. All the rooms of the Castle, the ground floor and first floor can accommodate up to 400 guests. The park is 11 hectares and can receive an even greater number of guests as part of “wine of honour” and “celebration lunches”.

MUSEUMS

Motorbikes

This is the home for one of the vital motorbike museums in France. Nearly 250 motorbikes dating from 1902 to 1960 representing almost all nationalities are on exhibit here. Norton, Vincent, Gilera, Velocette, V Rudge, AJS, Terrot, Honda, Blériot, Peugeot, BSA, NSU, Horex and Sarolea are some of the few prestigious brands.

Racing Car “ABARTH”

Indeed, one of the most beautiful and rarer collections of “Abarth” prototypes in the world. Thirty-five different models, some unique, with which the owner of the Castle took part personally. 

Fighter Planes

Nearly 100 fighter planes are exhibited in the park.

Straddle Tractors

With 30 prototypes from 1946 to 1956 are on display in the park, this museum is one of the most unique in Burgundy. 

Fire Engines

A collection of about 20 fire engines are on exhibit. 

The Hovercraft Bertin

Model N 102-C.3, which has been fully restored, is on display here for the visitors to see.

Wine Making and Wine Culture

Here you can find out all about where, how and with what the ancestors were developing and cultivating wine grapes.

Where is it on the Map?

Explore more places in Europe

Explore more nearby places in Auvergne - Rhône-Alpes., France
See more in Can't retrieve term. In case if you changed taxonomy slug for this term, please update widget settings to use new taxonomy slug.

Chateau de Savigny was built around 1340 by Jean de Frolois for the Duc Eudes, Marshal of Burgundy. It was demolished when the Duc took Marie de Bourgogne’s side against Louis XI in 1478. However, the crows of machicolation were saved and are still visible in two of the towers.

It became the property of the Bouhier family in the early 17th century, Etienne Bouhier restored and extended the Chateau. His son, Jean, constructed the grand staircase inside, after the death of his father in 1635. He built it with the same design as the one made by Mansard in the Castle of Maisons-Laffitte. His son, Bénigne, succeeded him in 1671, and to mark this event, created the “Petit Château”. The eldest son of Bénigne, Jean Bouhier, entered the French academic in 1727.

In 1689, the building became the property of the De Migieu family by marriage to General Comte de la Loyère and his descendants. His son, the Comte de la Loyère, whose grandson, Academician Joseph de Pesquidoux, was born in Savigny in 1869, was the President of the Committee of Wine Growing of Côte d’Or from 1854 to 1879. His collaborator was Dr Guyot whose works on the vineyards were still authority. He died in 1872 and was buried in Savigny.

During 1719, President Migieu had to leave his Château for a few months when it was used as a residence for the Duchess of Maine during his exile in Burgundy.

Finally, since 1979 the Castle has been restored to its original purpose, becoming the property of a large vineyard on the côte managed by Christophe Pont.

The Vineyard

The vineyard that is about 17 hectares, produces seven premiers’ crus: Auxey-Duresses – Beaune – Monthélie – Meursault – Pommard – Volnay and Savigny-lès-Beaune, including its 4 hectare Cuvée du Château Monopole and, on the Côte Dijonnaise, its Clos du Châpitre, and its Cuvée du Roy. 

Beautiful 14th and 17th-century cellar extend under the Grand Palace, and under the cellars, which house the wine in barrels and bottles. These premier cru wines are marketed directly to Château of Savigny, and the restaurant “Le Cellier Volnaysien” in Volnay.

Tasting Pavilion

The “Petit Château” was built in 1683 in an original style by President Bénigne Bouhier who was the owner at the time. The building was meant to serve as a common and stables. After its restoration in 1987, it has been converted into a tasting pavilion for visitors and for marketing wines from the Château. Recently, a dining room too was created for the tasting of local products. 

Reception Rooms

The first floor of the Château is built with three reception rooms, all connected together. These magnificent rooms can accommodate up to 300 people and are intended for use for various events and functions. Two kitchens are installed and available to caterers. The Château wines are served exclusively at producer prices. All the ground floor, consisting of a row of old cellars, have been fully restored and open to the public for visiting various exhibitions and tastings. All the rooms of the Castle, the ground floor and first floor can accommodate up to 400 guests. The park is 11 hectares and can receive an even greater number of guests as part of “wine of honour” and “celebration lunches”.

MUSEUMS

Motorbikes

This is the home for one of the vital motorbike museums in France. Nearly 250 motorbikes dating from 1902 to 1960 representing almost all nationalities are on exhibit here. Norton, Vincent, Gilera, Velocette, V Rudge, AJS, Terrot, Honda, Blériot, Peugeot, BSA, NSU, Horex and Sarolea are some of the few prestigious brands.

Racing Car “ABARTH”

Indeed, one of the most beautiful and rarer collections of “Abarth” prototypes in the world. Thirty-five different models, some unique, with which the owner of the Castle took part personally. 

Fighter Planes

Nearly 100 fighter planes are exhibited in the park.

Straddle Tractors

With 30 prototypes from 1946 to 1956 are on display in the park, this museum is one of the most unique in Burgundy. 

Fire Engines

A collection of about 20 fire engines are on exhibit. 

The Hovercraft Bertin

Model N 102-C.3, which has been fully restored, is on display here for the visitors to see.

Wine Making and Wine Culture

Here you can find out all about where, how and with what the ancestors were developing and cultivating wine grapes.

Where is it on the Map?

Explore more places in Europe

See more in Can't retrieve term. In case if you changed taxonomy slug for this term, please update widget settings to use new taxonomy slug.
Explore more nearby places in Auvergne - Rhône-Alpes., France

Chateau de Savigny was built around 1340 by Jean de Frolois for the Duc Eudes, Marshal of Burgundy. It was demolished when the Duc took Marie de Bourgogne’s side against Louis XI in 1478. However, the crows of machicolation were saved and are still visible in two of the towers.

It became the property of the Bouhier family in the early 17th century, Etienne Bouhier restored and extended the Chateau. His son, Jean, constructed the grand staircase inside, after the death of his father in 1635. He built it with the same design as the one made by Mansard in the Castle of Maisons-Laffitte. His son, Bénigne, succeeded him in 1671, and to mark this event, created the “Petit Château”. The eldest son of Bénigne, Jean Bouhier, entered the French academic in 1727.

In 1689, the building became the property of the De Migieu family by marriage to General Comte de la Loyère and his descendants. His son, the Comte de la Loyère, whose grandson, Academician Joseph de Pesquidoux, was born in Savigny in 1869, was the President of the Committee of Wine Growing of Côte d’Or from 1854 to 1879. His collaborator was Dr Guyot whose works on the vineyards were still authority. He died in 1872 and was buried in Savigny.

During 1719, President Migieu had to leave his Château for a few months when it was used as a residence for the Duchess of Maine during his exile in Burgundy.

Finally, since 1979 the Castle has been restored to its original purpose, becoming the property of a large vineyard on the côte managed by Christophe Pont.

The Vineyard

The vineyard that is about 17 hectares, produces seven premiers’ crus: Auxey-Duresses – Beaune – Monthélie – Meursault – Pommard – Volnay and Savigny-lès-Beaune, including its 4 hectare Cuvée du Château Monopole and, on the Côte Dijonnaise, its Clos du Châpitre, and its Cuvée du Roy. 

Beautiful 14th and 17th-century cellar extend under the Grand Palace, and under the cellars, which house the wine in barrels and bottles. These premier cru wines are marketed directly to Château of Savigny, and the restaurant “Le Cellier Volnaysien” in Volnay.

Tasting Pavilion

The “Petit Château” was built in 1683 in an original style by President Bénigne Bouhier who was the owner at the time. The building was meant to serve as a common and stables. After its restoration in 1987, it has been converted into a tasting pavilion for visitors and for marketing wines from the Château. Recently, a dining room too was created for the tasting of local products. 

Reception Rooms

The first floor of the Château is built with three reception rooms, all connected together. These magnificent rooms can accommodate up to 300 people and are intended for use for various events and functions. Two kitchens are installed and available to caterers. The Château wines are served exclusively at producer prices. All the ground floor, consisting of a row of old cellars, have been fully restored and open to the public for visiting various exhibitions and tastings. All the rooms of the Castle, the ground floor and first floor can accommodate up to 400 guests. The park is 11 hectares and can receive an even greater number of guests as part of “wine of honour” and “celebration lunches”.

MUSEUMS

Motorbikes

This is the home for one of the vital motorbike museums in France. Nearly 250 motorbikes dating from 1902 to 1960 representing almost all nationalities are on exhibit here. Norton, Vincent, Gilera, Velocette, V Rudge, AJS, Terrot, Honda, Blériot, Peugeot, BSA, NSU, Horex and Sarolea are some of the few prestigious brands.

Racing Car “ABARTH”

Indeed, one of the most beautiful and rarer collections of “Abarth” prototypes in the world. Thirty-five different models, some unique, with which the owner of the Castle took part personally. 

Fighter Planes

Nearly 100 fighter planes are exhibited in the park.

Straddle Tractors

With 30 prototypes from 1946 to 1956 are on display in the park, this museum is one of the most unique in Burgundy. 

Fire Engines

A collection of about 20 fire engines are on exhibit. 

The Hovercraft Bertin

Model N 102-C.3, which has been fully restored, is on display here for the visitors to see.

Wine Making and Wine Culture

Here you can find out all about where, how and with what the ancestors were developing and cultivating wine grapes.

Where is it on the Map?

© 2018 - 2020 Copyright by Travel in Pink/Cloud Enterprises Ltd. All rights reserved.

No content may be copied without prior written approval.